General FAQs
A comprehensive list of all the questions you might have about Small Batch Learning and how it works, including "Is it true I don’t have to pay to use Small Batch Learning?"
Introduction: What is Small Batch Learning?
What is Small Batch Learning?
Small Batch Learning is an online workplace learning platform that provides free online training to the hospitality and retail industries, covering beverage education, beverage service and product knowledge. Unlike traditional learning management systems, unlimited learners can join and use the platform for free, browse and select their own courses, lessons, recipes and products to study, and collect badges and certificates that help them move up leaderboards.
Meanwhile, outlet managers can: either add their own company training materials or customise any Small Batch Learning content; train different roles across multiple teams, in different outlets and in different countries; and use Small Batch Learning to communicate with and track progress for all of them. For further understanding, click here.
What is a Learning Management System?
The longer answer: a software application for the administration, documentation, tracking, reporting and delivery of educational courses, training programs, and learning and development programs. The short answer: a system to deliver and track online training, en masse, for your team.
Why is Small Batch Learning different to other LMSs?
Small Batch Learning has been built specifically with the demands of hospitality training in mind. We want to ensure our solution works for your business, not ours.
Our training content not only covers service skills and beverage education, but also the product knowledge needed to successfully generate revenue for your business, organised in a structured learning tool that mirrors an outlet’s own drinks list – called the Virtual Menu.
Moreover, our technology allows users to customise Small Batch Learning’s content so that it aligns with your own training and allows managers to reach different team members with tailored training optimised for their individual role. And – did we mention? – it’s free.
Do I need to install anything?
No, access to the platform is through the website – look for the “sign in” button. However the platform is also available as both an Android and iOS app – see our User FAQs for more details, but here are the links:
For Android, click here.
For iOS, click here.
What device can I use to access Small Batch Learning?
Any smart device (that has an internet connection): phone, tablet, laptop, computer.
Pricing: Free (except for certain third-party content)
Is it true I don’t have to pay to use Small Batch Learning?
Yes. Any hospitality operator (or individual learner – see “user accounts”, below) can sign up to Small Batch Learning, create a learning platform just for their outlet, then onboard as many staff members as they want, and start training – all for free.
As the platform manager, you can access our free online hospitality courses with certificates or create your own free training program, and never have to worry about paying for more employee licences or renewing your account.
That seems crazy, what’s the catch?
There is no catch. As well as the training courses and product information provided by Small Batch Learning on the Virtual Menu, we work with brands to create lessons to train service professionals on the products sold in their outlets.
This training helps staff fully understand the products they serve, increasing their confidence when it comes to making recommendations for guests, in turn helping to improve the customer experience and revenue for the outlet.
The brands pay Small Batch Learning a fee every time a staff member completes one of these product training lessons, and this keeps the platform free for users.
Is there any content that I have to pay for?
Yes. Some third-party content providers may charge learners and outlets to access their training. However, all Small Batch Learning-authored content and user access to the platform will remain free – forever.
Is it really free for individual users too?
Yes, your profile is completely free and stays with you for life. And it’s not just all the Small Batch Learning content that’s free; unlike some “free” online training models, we won’t ever charge you to download your certificate after finishing each course.
Outlet platforms: Team capacity, large groups & management control
How many staff can join my outlet’s free training platform?
As many as you want, it’s always free.
What if I have more than one venue? What if I have 100 venues?
It’s still free – for as many staff or venues as you need. And forever. We won’t introduce a payment after an initial introductory period, or try to upsell you on extra team space or features.
I manage 1,000 venues across 12 countries, can you support that?
Absolutely. We built our technology with large hotel groups in mind, and the hierarchical structure of the platform allows you to manage from the top down, while giving regional and local managers the access they need to manage their sub-platforms.
There are several ways to implement effectively (and you’d be surprised how quick it is). Send us an enquiry and we’ll walk you through it.
Who controls my outlet’s training platform?
You do. We set up your platform and then invite you or one of your team to join as the first platform admin (your platform manager). This person is given "admin permissions" and can set up your outlet’s training and add staff (or, we can help you do this too, but it’s easy to do by yourself – and we have great videos to show you how!). See User FAQs here for more explanation of "permissions".
Once the platform admin has got the hang of it, the platform is yours to control, forever. We won’t delete it unless either you ask us to or if there’s no activity for a very (very) long time. And we’ll always ask you first.
User accounts: Individuals, lifetime access & switching jobs
How are outlet platforms and user accounts different?
Every user has their own user account, which is separate from an outlet platform. If you’re part of a team on Small Batch Learning, ie you’re training through an outlet platform, and then change jobs, you keep your user account with you – it doesn’t belong to the outlet; it belongs to you.
This means your learning record stays with you, and doesn’t get deleted when you change jobs. (Note: you can also change the email address on your user account when you leave a job, in case you signed up using a work email.)
Can I use Small Batch Learning as an individual?
Yes, click here to sign up for an individual account. You don’t have to be part of a team or real-life venue to learn on Small Batch Learning. As an individual learner, you can access the training library and save content you want to learn to your My Shelf space.
Later if you join an outlet’s training platform, any lessons assigned to you by your new manager, which you’ve already done, will show as completed – so you won’t have to repeat training each time you move to a new job (but you’re always free to review completed training).
What happens to a user's account once they leave my business?
The learner and outlet are separate entities – so if a staff member leaves your business, you simply remove their access to your outlet platform. (Note: they can even change their email address on their account before leaving if they’ve signed up with a work email). A learner retains their profile for life. If they re-join later, or move to another outlet that uses Small Batch Learning, their learning statistics follow them.
Content: Training, languages & quizzes
What languages is Small Batch Learning currently available in?
English and Mandarin.
Who writes Small Batch Learning's training content?
Small Batch Learning’s own courses are written by our in-house content team, but are peer-reviewed to make sure the training matches the required standards of the industry. These courses are clearly labelled with "SBL". However, Small Batch Learning also welcomes third-party content providers to host their training content on the platform, and encourages outlet managers to upload their own outlet-specific training content too.
Outlet platform: Can I add my own training?
Yes! Outlet managers are encouraged to use the platform – for free – as their business’s own bespoke online training platform. You can add as much material as you want with our easy-to-use content creation tool, including text, photo and video, with options to attach audio, pdfs or power point slides. You can also mix our content with your own, to make tailor-made training courses that match your team’s specific training requirements.
Outlet platform: Can I create quizzes to test my staff on the content I upload?
Yes, you can create quizzes for each lesson using our simple content authoring tool. Quizzes are presented in multiple-choice format, with answers and questions that can feature text or photos.
Outlet platform: Can I upload my own cocktail recipes and specs?
Yes, the recipes feature allows you to build your spec sheet into a Virtual Menu, as well as allowing access to our library of classic cocktails – use our recipes as they are, or customise with your outlet’s own specs and brand calls.
Outlet platform: If I add my own content, who can see it?
That’s up to you. Most admins choose to only share their private content with members of their outlet – their real-life team, in other words. Managers can assign each training course to specific individuals, or share with the whole company – and it’s all protected to ensure your content remains private. Once a staff member leaves your business, simply remove their access to your private content with the click of a button.
Outlet platform: Can my staff also create content?
Again, that’s up to you. When adding a person to your outlet’s team, you select the permissions that are granted to that person – "admin" permissions means they can write or delete content.
How can brands offer product training on Small Batch Learning?
Through the Virtual Menu tool, by adding extra lessons to their products information pages, or by creating training courses as a third-party content provider and then sharing access to their courses with outlets.
Outlet platform: Can I upload SCORM content?
No, we don’t support SCORM wrapped content. The decision to build our own content authoring tool was not one taken lightly; however, the flexibility required to deliver job-optimised training for all team members meant that SCORM was not a solution that would deliver on our promise to you, and your staff.
Who uses Small Batch Learning?
What industries do you serve?
Hospitality and retail.
Which companies use Small Batch Learning currently?
Check out what some of our valued clients are saying about us here.
Is it possible to integrate with existing technologies used in my organisation?
Yes, it is possible. Depending on requirements, there will be a one-off fee associated with a new integration based on the scope of work required. Rest assured, we are currently working on several integrations with popular complementary technologies. Enquire with us about a bespoke solution built around your business needs.
Can you support large organisations?
Yes, our technology is designed to cater to all hospitality businesses – whether 50 staff or 50,000.
What kind of support do you offer?
When your outlet signs up, you’ll be assigned an account manager who’ll be responsible for customer support. For technical support, our team is online 24 hours a day.
How do we get started?
If you’re a manager of a hospitality business, send us an enquiry and we’ll be in touch. If you’re wanting your venue involved, but are not the decision maker, connect us with the relevant person and we’ll take it from there.

一般常见问题
对于饮者学院平台的运作,你可能抱有一些疑惑。这里有一份常见问题清单,包括"我不需要付费就能使用饮者学院,是真的吗?"
介绍:饮者学院是做什么的?
饮者学院是什么?
饮者学院是为酒水服务与零售业提供免费线上培训的职场学习平台,培训内容涵盖酒水教育、酒水服务和产品知识。与传统的学习管理系统(LMS)不同,加入和使用我们的平台永久免费且不限人数,用户可自行浏览并选择自己想要学习的课程、配方和产品,获得勋章和证书从而提升自己在排行榜上的名次。
同时,门店管理者可以添加自己公司的培训材料,或自定义饮者学院提供的内容,从而对不同国家和门店的各个岗位的员工进行培训,并通过平台追踪所有人的学习进度。如需进一步了解,请点击此处.
学习管理系统(LMS)是什么?
长点的回答是:用于管理、记录、追踪,提供教育课程、培训、学习和发展计划的应用软件。简短的回答是:为团队全员提供线上培训并追踪学习进度的系统。
饮者学院为什么和其它学习管理系统不同?
饮者学院是专为酒水服务业打造的线上培训平台。我们希望确保我们提供的解决方案,适用于你的业务。
我们的培训内容不仅涵盖服务技能和酒水教育,还包括提升销售收入所必备的产品知识——凭借“虚拟菜单”这一学习工具,可创建线上版本的酒单或库存清单,针对门店使用的产品和配方展开培训。
此外,用户可以自定义饮者学院的培训内容,使其与自己所在门店的标准化流程相吻合,而管理者可以将定制的培训内容布置给不同团队各个岗位的员工。以及,(我们提过了吧?)这一切都是免费的。
我需要安装什么吗?
不需要,只需通过网站或者微信小程序访问平台,找到“登录”按钮。
我可以使用哪些设备访问饮者学院?
任何可连网的智能设备——手机、电脑、平板电脑、笔记本电脑。
价格:免费(除了部分第三方内容)
我不需要付费就能使用饮者学院,是真的吗?
是的。所有酒类从业者(或爱好者——见下方“个人账户”问答)都可以注册饮者学院平台,创建门店账户,然后邀请任意数量的员工加入团队开始培训——一切都是免费的。作为门店管理者,你可以访问我们的酒水服务业在线课程,创建你自己的团队培训项目,而无需担心支付任何费用。
听起来太疯狂了,到底有什么内幕?
在平台的「虚拟菜单」中,除了饮者学院提供的培训课程和产品信息,我们也和品牌合作研发深入教学,帮助从业者更好地了解自己门店所售的产品。
这将使员工在向客人推荐产品时更加自信,从而提升顾客体验、增加门店营收。
员工每完成一节产品教学,品牌就会向饮者学院支付一笔费用,这使得我们的平台能够向所有用户免费开放。
有什么需要我付费的内容吗?
平台上某些由第三方提供的内容,可能会向学习者收取培训费用。但是,饮者学院自主编写的内容以及平台的访问权限将永久免费。
对个人用户也是完全免费的吗?
是的,你的个人学习帐户完全免费,并将终身保留。不只提供的培训内容免费,完成课程后可供下载的证书,也是免费的。
门店平台:团队人数,大型集团&管理控制
我的门店免费培训账户可以邀请多少员工加入?
不限数量,且永久免费。
如果我有多家门店呢?比如100家?
仍然免费,你可以根据需要添加任意数量的员工和门店。没有隐藏费用,没有附加收费。
我在12个国家经营1000个门店,你们的平台可以支持吗?
当然。我们的技术考虑到了大型酒店集团, 平台设置的层级结构使你能够自上而下进行管理,同时授予区域经理管理各分店的权限。向我们发送联系,我们将逐步指导你如何操作。
谁来管控我的培训平台?
你自己。我们设置好你的门店账户后,会邀请你或你团队中的一员,成为第一个平台管理者。此人将被授予"管理员权限",可以设置你门店的培训内容并添加员工(我们也可以帮你完成这些,不过你自己操作起来其实很容易——我们还制作了小视频指导你如何使用平台)。
个人账户:独立学习者,终身访问和更换工作
门店账户和个人帐户有何不同?
每位用户都有自己的个人帐户,该帐户独立于门店帐户之外。如果你在饮者学院平台加入了团队,也就是说,你的个人帐户与门店帐户绑定,那么当你更换工作时,你的个人帐户将得以保留——它不属于门店,而属于你。这意味着你的学习数据将一直存在,即使换了工作也不会被抹去。(备注:如果你使用了工作邮箱进行注册,在离职时也可以更改个人帐户中的邮箱。
我作为独立学习者,可以使用饮者学院吗?
可以,点击这里此处即可注册个人账户。作为独立学习者,你可以浏览培训资料库,保存想要学习的内容到收藏夹。若你将来加入了某个门店的培训账户,任何布置给你的教学如果你已经学过,将显示为“已完成”——所以你无需担心每次换工作后要重复学习(当然,你随时可以回顾已经完成的培训)。
员工从我的公司离职后,个人账户会发生什么变化?
门店账户和个人账户是各自独立的——所以如果某位员工离开了你的公司,只需取消其对你门店账户的访问权限(备注:如果员工使用工作邮箱进行注册,在离职时也可以更改个人账户中的邮箱)。他的个人账户将永久保留。如果他之后重新归队,或者加入另一个使用饮者学院的门店,他的学习数据也会随之转移。
内容:培训,语言和测试
饮者学院目前有哪些语言版本?
英文和中文。
饮者学院的培训内容是谁编写的?
饮者学院自主创作的课程由我们的内容团队进行编写,且经过同行审阅,确保培训符合行业要求的标准。这些课程的标注为"SBL"(饮者学院英文名"Small Batch Learning"的缩写)。此外,饮者学院欢迎第三方内容提供商在平台上呈现他们的培训内容,我们也鼓励门店管理者上传针对自己门店的培训内容。
门店平台:我可以上传自己的培训内容吗?
当然!我们希望门店管理者把饮者学院当作自己公司的免费学习管理系统。通过我们便捷的内容创作工具,你可以添加无限数量的培训素材——包括文本、图片和视频,以及音频、pdf文档或幻灯片。你也可以将我们的内容与你自己的内容结合使用,从而制定出满足团队特定需求的培训课程。
门店平台:我可以添加测试来检验员工对我所上传内容的掌握程度吗?
没问题,通过我们简易的内容创作工具,你可以为每一节教学添加测试。测试的形式是多选题,问题和答案可包含文本及图片。
门店平台:我可以上传自己的鸡尾酒配方和规格吗?
没问题,你可以创建自己的配方,同时你也可以访问我们的经典鸡尾酒资料库——使用我们现有的配方,或者根据你门店使用的规格和产品进行自定义。
门店平台:如果我添加了自己创建的内容,都有谁可以看到?
由你决定。大多数管理员选择只与自己的门店成员分享私密内容。管理者可以将培训课程指定给个人,或与整个公司共享——所有上传内容都受安全加密保护。当员工从你的公司离职时,只需一键取消其对你门店私密内容的访问权限。
门店平台:我的员工也可以创建内容吗?
同样,这由你决定。当你将人员添加至门店团队时,可以选择授予该人员的权限——"管理员"享有编写和删除内容的权限。
品牌要如何在饮者学院提供产品培训?
通过「虚拟菜单」工具,在品牌的产品信息页增添附加教学。或者可以作为第三方内容提供者创建培训课程,然后向门店分享课程的访问权限。
门店平台:我可以上传SCORM课件吗?
不可以,我们的平台不支持SCORM课件。我们研发了自己的内容创作工具,这不是一个轻率的决定——为团队全体成员提供优化工作的培训,要求平台具有很高的灵活性,而SCORM并不是一个可以满足你全部需求的解决方案。
谁在使用饮者学院?
你们的平台适用于哪些行业?
酒水服务业和零售业。
目前有哪些公司在使用饮者学院?
点击这里查看部分重要客户对我们的评价此处.
你们的平台能否与我企业使用的现有技术进行结合?
这是可能的。取决于你的需求和任务内容,我们也许会对新的结合收取一次性费用。请放心,我们目前与当下流行的补充性技术做了多次整合。欢迎向我们咨询,针对你的业务需求所定制的个性化解决方案。
你们的平台可以服务大型企业吗?
没问题,我们的技术适用于所有酒水服务企业——无论有50名员工还是5万名员工。
你们提供什么样的服务支持?
在你的门店完成注册后,我们会指定一位客户经理负责提供帮助。如需技术支持,我们的团队全天24小时在线。
我们要如何开始培训?
如果你是酒水服务企业的经理,请向我们发送联系,我们将尽快予以回复。如果你不是能为公司做决定的人,但仍希望自己所在的门店加入饮者学院,那么不妨帮助我们与你的经理建立联系。